Published 15/08/16

SP 85mm F1.8 Di VC USD wins ''European DSLR Lens 2016-2017''

Tamron lens wins EISA Award for 11th consecutive year


Tamron Co., Ltd. President & CEO Shiro Ajisaka, a leading manufacturer of optics for diverse applications, announces that its SP 85mm F/1.8 Di VC USD, the worlds first fast-aperture lens with VC Vibration Compensation for full-frame DSLR cameras, has won the EISA Award for European DSLR Lens 2016-2017.

For 85mm F/1.8 fixed focal lens for full-frame DSLR cameras As of January, 2016. Source Tamron
The Sony mount model does not include VC since Sony DSLR bodies include image stabilization functionality. The name of the Sony mount model is ''SP 85mm F/1.8 Di USD Model F016'' without the VC designation. The launch date of the Sony mount model will be announced at a later date.

Excerpt from the Award of the EISA Jury
The Tamron SP 85mm F/1.8 Di VC USD sets new standards of performance for a short telephoto portrait lens. Its the first of its type equipped with optical image stabilization, allowing the photographer to use shutter speeds up to 3.5 stops slower than usual. Optical performance is enhanced by the use of Low Dispersion and Extra Low Dispersion glass elements to minimize chromatic aberrations, and the barrel is also sealed against dust and moisture. The optical design strikes a perfect balance between sharpness at the point of focusing and producing a soft natural effect at the background, making it a perfect lens for portrait artists.

About the EISA Award
The European Imaging and Sound Association EISA presents awards each year to products judged to be the best in Photography, Hi-Fi, Home Theatre Audio, Home Theatre Display & Video, In-Car Electronics and Mobile devise categories. A panel of editors from over 50 leading imaging, sound, and electronic industry magazines in 22 countries review and vote determine the leading products on the market.

Tamron Lenses that have received the EISA Award
The receipt of this prestigious award marks the 18th year Tamron has won an EISA Award, and the 11th consecutive year since 2006.


Year Awarded Product Name
1992-1993 SP AF35-105mm F/2.8 Aspherical Model 65D
1993-1994 AF28-200mm F/3.8-5.6 Aspherical Model 71D
1997-1998 SP AF90mm F/2.8 MACRO 11 Model 72E
1999-2000 AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Aspherical IF MACRO Model 185D
2000-2001 AF28-200mm F/3.8-5.6 Aspherical-IF Super &8545; Model 371D
2002-2003 AF28-300mm Ultra Zoom XR F/3.5-6.3 LD Aspherical IF MACRO Model A06
2003-2004 SP AF28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical IF MACRO Model A09
2006-2007 SP AF17-50mm F/2.8 XR Di &8545; LD Aspherical IF Model A16
2007-2008 AF18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 Di &8545; LD Aspherical IF MACRO Model A18
2008-2009 AF28-300mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di VC LD Aspherical IF MACRO
2009-2010 AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di &8545; VC LD Aspherical IF MACRO Model B003
2010-2011 SP 70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di VC USD Model A005
2011-2012 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di &8545; VC PZD Model B008
2012-2013 SP 24-70mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Model A007
2013-2014 SP 90mm F/2.8 Di MACRO 11 VC USD Model F004

SP 70-200mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Model A009

2014-2015 16-300mm F/3.5-6.3 Di &8545; VC PZD MACRO Model B016

SP 150-600mm F/5-6.3 Di VC USD Model A011

2015-2016 SP 15-30mm F/2.8 Di VC USD Model A012
2016-2017 SP 85mm F/1.8 Di VC USD Model F016

Contact https://www.intro2020.co.uk/

1st Published 15 August 2016 08:39 Posted by Ben Jones
last update 11/10/2018 11:27:59

The Societies of Photographers Convention and Trade Show at The Novotel London West, Hammersmith ...
You have 308 days until The Societies of Photographers Convention starting on Wednesday 16th March 2022


Professional Photo magazine - Professional Photographer of the Year competition now open for entries. £8000 worth of prizes to be won!