Deal Town Hall
Deal Town Hall
tel:- 01304 361999
fax:- 01304 380546
web address:- www.deal.gov.uk
Deal Town Hall :-
Venue type - Historical Building
Number of function rooms available for weddings: 1
Function room names and capacities: The Town Hall Chamber- the Chamber is on the first floor and is accessible via the large spiral staircase or a lift. The Chamber can seat up to 100 guests.
Licensed for Civil Ceremonies - Yes
Evening Reception Facilities - Yes
Car Parking Facilities - Yes
Wedding services provided: The Premises Officer can advise you about the services and facilities available at the Town Hall.
Gardens or outside locations suitable for wedding photography: The charming outside Undercroft can be decorated in the style you wish, to create a wonderful location for memorable photographs.
Suitable locations inside the venue for wedding photography: Built in 1803, the Town Hall is situated in the High Street of picturesque Deal. It is a Grade II listed building surrounded by stunning portraits and artefacts.
Local picturesque areas suitable for wedding photography: The magnificent Deal Castle is close by, an impressive coastal defence fort. The charming pier stretches out towards the sea, and the long stretch of beach make a scenic background to any photograph. The elegant Walmer Castle and Gardens is nearby, which is the official residence of the ‘Lords Warden of the Cinque Ports'. The Gardens at Walmer Castle are fondly named the Queen Mother's Garden, because Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother made regular visits here.
Venue special features: The Chamber displays numerous historic and grand portraits of past dignitaries and Royalty. There is a beautiful baby grand piano and other historic artefacts.
Venue History: On March 15 1803 the Mayor, Isaac Gammon, along with the Jurats and members of the Common Council, attended a ceremony for the laying of the first stone of the new town hall and market place. The outside pillared area at ground level was to provide an area for a market place. The building has been used as the Town’s Court (including cells), as well as a fire station. Horses were used to pull the firemen’s equipment, the horses troth can still be seen at the front of the building. Each Mayor since 1699 is etched in gold around the Chamber.
Recommended by Photographer:- Dave Cosens
The tradition of a "Groom's Cake" comes from England and Ireland. There, the traditional groom's cake is a fruit cake with white icing. The groom's cake is usually served along with the traditional wedding cake. Today groom's cakes are very often chocolate instead of the traditional fruit cake.